Menu

2021

一直還在堅持的人,在未來回首這差不多兩年的經歷,領會到的是無論站在那個崗位上,生活其實需要專屬的熱誠,才會意想不到。

面對逆境無畏無懼,溫哥華多間中式食肆在疫情下毅然開業,勇氣不但可嘉,更憑著優秀出品而深受食客愛戴。為延續中華食肆大獎多年來對餐飲業的支持,2021 年度食評人大獎評審主席萬里峰先生精心挑選四間《變革先鋒》得獎食肆。由 Canola Eat Well 獨家贊助,《食評人大獎之變革先鋒》是中華食肆大獎新設年中獎項,以此表揚他們對中華美食的貢獻和突破逆境的堅毅精神,並且為 2021 年度中華食肆大獎食評人大獎展開序幕。

《食評人大獎之變革先鋒》四間得獎食肆將獲邀參與 2021 年 11 月 16 日在溫哥華會所 The Vancouver Club 舉行的中華食肆大獎頒獎典禮,現場領取這份特別嘉許。

獨家贊助
Canola Eat Well

《變革先鋒》得獎食肆推選人

香港出生、溫哥華長大的萬里峰,極之鍾情東方飲食文化,尤愛中國烹飪。以 Lee Man 為筆名,為多份報刊撰寫食經,包括 Wine Access, Eat Magazine, Best Place Vancouver 及溫哥華版 Time Out 等,亦是溫哥華雜誌 Vancouver Magazine 及 Montecristo Magazine 的特約食經作家。BLOG | Instagram

 

萬里峰先生評語

Uncles Snack Shop
開業於 2021 年 3 月

8180 Westminster Highway, Richmond, BC V6X 3Y2
聯繫電話  604.270.6188

當疫情規限逐漸放緩,Uncle’s Snack Shop 美食出品所帶來的無窮歡樂感覺,正代表著大眾食客的渴求。他們透過精湛廚藝、經過深思熟慮設計而成的口味,以及對亞洲傳統烹調的深入了解,盡情發揮一份既年輕又獨特的動力和玩味;譬如是他們的炸雞三文治 (Uncle Kev’s OG Chicken Sandy) 所採用的薑蔥醬汁恰到好處,可媲美城中最佳港式燒臘店;炸雞皮小食 (Chicken Skin “Chickarron”) 則集合了酥脆、香辣及鮮甜等不同口味,取替了雞皮一般油膩非常的放縱感覺。柚子沙律 (Pom Pomelo Salad) 的清新鮮味,則來自新鮮亮麗的柑橘柚子、香脆可口的墨西哥豆薯、鮮明耀眼的薄荷,以及略帶辣味的酸豆等食材,入口品嚐發現,上述新鮮材料均經過廚房精心挑選及處理,所以不只是擁有Instagram誘人外貌,而是真材實料。他們的「員工餐」所包括的肉醬和白飯,也代表著他們對食物的專注和嚴謹態度:慢煮肉醬滲透陣陣肉香,簡單如白飯也蒸得香滑柔軟、飯香撲鼻。Uncle’s Snack Shop 的美食不但令人興奮不已,更可以同時寬慰人心,從而帶出新世代餐飲人才,毅然展望未來的一份無畏無懼精神。

Website | Instagram | Facebook


開業於 2020 年 2 月

2808 Cambie St, Vancouver, BC V5Z 2V5
訂座電話  236.477.7777

中國芸芸美食當中,最具民族抱負的一道菜,莫過於北京烤鴨。作為帝王美食,北京烤鴨不但歷史悠久,並將田園之豐盛用作反映中華文化的指標;因此無論喜興宴會聚餐,都少不了北京烤鴨的蹤影。全聚德有史以來被視為北京烤鴨終極標準的傳承者,就算他們在溫哥華開業時正值疫情初期,全聚德溫哥華團隊依然堅守秉承傳統的文化責任,即使面對經濟不穩及龐大前期投資等因素,也動搖不了他們要身為全球中華美食大使,將最優秀中菜傳到溫哥華的使命。他們更特別請北京頂級名廚遠道而來,監督廚房建設、培訓烹飪團隊及採購本地最佳烤鴨食材。溫哥華全聚德對細節講究非常,大廚刀法出神入化,輕鬆自如炮製鮮明出眾的味道。烤鴨美味無比,並且是即點即做,由廚師在餐桌旁現場片皮 — 金香脆皮及美味可口的鴨肉放在輕紗般的薄餅上,的確令人回味無窮。

Instagram


開業於 2020 年 1 月

3950 Main St, Vancouver, BC V5V 3P2
訂座電話  604.873.1172

無論是掛滿牆上兩側的中式現代風格海報,或是高高懸掛的特大紅燈籠,老鳥的華麗裝潢反映著一份成熟老練而彬彬有禮的舊情懷,常見於老上海後街小巷、香港Soho區、或者是燈光璀璨的台北信義區。當溫哥華大部分中式食肆都專注為家庭食客服務,中式餐飲文化的豐富歷史其實也包括在光線昏暗的場地與三五知己品酒嚐菜談天說地。老鳥所供應的飲品也充滿亞洲風味,無懼甘苦口味,充分表現箇中既華麗又豐盛的感覺。食物選擇傾向是宵夜形式,但依然流露出充滿自信的專注力和精心處理。他們的炸雞可算是全城最佳代表之一,香脆無比之同時亦充滿著鹹蛋黃粒粒起沙的鹹香滋味。他們的招牌炒飯定期更新,但最近的版本就以炸豆腐扑配搭醃製橄欖葉來做出獨特單寧口味。如果有供應的話,就不能錯過他們的港式奶凍 (Hong Kong Panne Cotta),吃一口立即感受百分百好立克的懷舊風味。老鳥能夠在疫情下整整一年屹立不倒,絕非奇蹟般簡單。我非常欣賞 Sophia Lin 那種包容廣闊的現代好客態度,內藏一份根深蒂固於傳統飲食文化的自信,所以能夠包容前進開明的價值觀,反映著一份溫哥華獨有的觀點,同時亦不失自我。

Website | Instagram


開業於 2021 年 1 月

955 W Broadway, Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K3
訂座電話  604.558.1198

在艱難時期,美食肯定有寬慰人心的作用,不過面對新冠疫情,似乎需要進一步的的支援。當家海鮮酒家所炮製的香港及廣東傳統菜式,戰後一代也幾乎是幾十年未見過,譬如是由肥美豬頸肉片包裹著雞膶再燒烤的廣東傳統名菜金錢雞,用奶皇、糖冬瓜蓉及咸蛋黃炮製的古法千層糕,以及由香脆炸子雞緊壓糯米飯的鍋燒糯米雞等;所有菜式都依照嚴謹標準製作,以勾起食客心底的美味回憶。食客對此的即時反應也非常熱烈,因為這些傳統美食猶如時光機,讓他們以味蕾重拾昔日美好時光。當家海鮮酒家的大廚團隊人才鼎盛,曾在香港接受傳統廣東菜訓練的師傅們,均來自溫哥華著名食肆如頤東、卅二公館及阿一鮑翅等,所以他們的出品的確能填補疫情所致的空虛感覺。當大廚透過畢生苦練的廚藝功架來表達對美食及餐飲服務的熱情,的確美妙。

Instagram | Facebook

2021年度食評人大獎首本名菜

結果將於11月公佈


Facebook
Whatsapp
Twitter
LinkedIn
Follow by Email

Menu

Critics Choice Awards 2021

The almost two years like none before, the almost two years that lasted forever are finally drawing to a close end. With hope.

Breaking through waves of challenges, a handful of Vancouver Chinese restaurants have courageously started their businesses during the pandemic and managed to flourish. As part of Chinese Restaurant Awards’ continuous effort to support the restaurant industry, 2021 Critics’ Choice Awards judging chair Lee Man has exclusively chosen four outstanding Game Changers for their unique offerings and gallant vision. Exclusively supported by Canola Eat Well, the Critics’ Choice Awards Game Changers are Chinese Restaurants Awards’ mid-year awards to honour these four restaurants’ culinary excellence and great perseverance, as well as to officially kick off the season for 2021 Critics’ Choice Awards.

The four winners of Critics’ Choice Awards Game Changer will be invited to receive this unique recognition at the 2021 Chinese Restaurant Awards ceremony at the Vancouver Club, which will be announced in the fall.

Proudly presented by
Canola Eat Well

Game Changers exclusively selected by
Lee Man Judging Chair
Born in Hong Kong and raised in Vancouver, Lee Man is a local food writer with a particular passion for Chinese and Asian cuisine. Lee is a regular contributor to Vancouver Magazine and Montecristo Magazine. Lee’s work has also been featured in Wine Access, Northwest Best Places, Time Out and Eat Magazine. BLOG   |  Instagram

The Four Award Winning Game Changers
Lee Man’s comments

Chefs Choice Chinese Cuisine
Opened in January 2021

955 W Broadway, Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K3
Reserve to experience  604.558.1198

In times of distress, food is certainly a source of comfort – but the COVID pandemic seemed to call for a whole new level of support. Chef’s Choice produces classic dishes from Hong Kong and Guangdong that even diners of the post World War II generation may not have seen in decades, such as Gold Coin Roasted Chicken, made with fatty pieces of pork jowl sandwiched between slices of chicken livers and, then, barbecued in the classic Cantonese style; the Steamed Thousand Layer Cake is properly made with custard, candied winter melon bits, and salted duck egg yolks. The gorgeously crisp skinned chicken pressed with sticky rice is another dish not to be missed. Everything is executed to exact standards that reflects the tasteful memories diners carried deep in their hearts. The response was immediate and passionate – flavours that can transport diners back to the simpler and happier times of their childhood. The kitchen has drawn on Vancouver’s insanely rich talent pool of old school Hong Kong trained chefs from Chef Tony, Mott32, and Grand Honour restaurants – filling an emotional void that nobody really thought about during the pandemic; a chef’s desire to express their love of food and hospitality through craftsmanship learned over a lifetime of hard work. And that’s a beautiful thing.

Instagram  |  Facebook

iDen & Quan Ju De
Opened in February 2020

2808 Cambie St, Vancouver, BC V5Z 2V5
Reserve to experience  236.477.7777

If there is such a thing as an aspirational national dish for China, it would be Peking Duck. With its rich history as an Imperial delicacy reflecting the cultural ideals of pastoral abundance – no special occasion Chinese meal is truly complete without one. Quan Ju De is regarded by many as the absolute standard bearer of Peking Duck – a responsibility that, despite opening right at the start of the pandemic lockdowns, the team in Vancouver takes very seriously. Despite the economic uncertainty and the huge upfront investments, Quan Ju De has never strayed from its vision of being the global ambassador of the finest Chinese food to Vancouver. Top tier chefs were brought in from Beijing to oversee the build out of the kitchen, training of the cooking brigade, and sourcing of the best local duck. The attention to detail is superlative, with beautiful knifework, bright vibrant flavours, and cleanly effortless execution. The ducks are incredibly delicious, cooked to order and carved tableside – the crackling burnished skin and richly delectable flesh served on gossamer light crepes. Delicious!

Instagram

Old Bird
Opened in January 2020

3950 Main St, Vancouver, BC V5V 3P2
Reserve to experience  604.873.1172

With its gorgeous interiors – walls flanked with modern Chinese posters and oversized red lanterns – Old Bird reflects an urbane sophistication that one could find in Old Shanghai’s side streets, Hong Kong’s SoHo District or Tapei’s glittering Xinyi District. And while most Chinese restaurants in Vancouver are focused on serving boisterous families, Chinese dining culture also has a rich history of carousing with alcohol-friendly dishes in darkly lit spaces for serious conversations. The drinks here are inflected with Asian notes that don’t shy away from bitter complexity or luxuriant exuberance. The food leans towards an easygoing late night flavour profile, but is still confidently focused and executed. The fried chicken is one of the best in the city – ridiculously crispy and imbued with the sandy savouriness of salted egg yolks. The house fried rice changes regularly – but a recent version featured the fried tofu puffs anchored by the tannic savouriness of preserved olive leaves. And if they have it, grab one of their Hong Kong panne cotta, which is pure Horlicks nostalgia. The fact that Old Bird is still around after a year of Covid related stops and starts is more than a minor miracle. I really love Sophia Lin’s inclusive sense of modern hospitality – one that expresses confidence borne from an ancient food culture that is deep enough to incorporate progressive values. Reflecting a distinctly Vancouver point of view while not losing its sense of self.

Website  |  Instagram

Uncles Snack Shop
Opened in March 2021

8180 Westminster Highway, Richmond, BC V6X 3Y2
Contact number  604.270.6188

The food at Uncle’s Snack Shop is just the shot of exuberant joyfulness we need as the lockdowns hopefully start easing for good. The sense of youthful playfulness and energy is underscored with sharp cooking, well thought out flavours, and a deep knowledge of traditional Asian techniques. The Uncle Kev’s OG Chicken Sandy is dressed in a warmly balanced ginger scallion sauce that would not be out of place at the best Hong Kong barbecue shops. The Chicken Skin Chickarron is an immediately addicting mix of crunch, heat, and sweetness but somehow steers away from sickly greasy overindulgence. The Pom Pomelo Salad brings vivid freshness and brightness with citrussy pomelo pieces, crunchy jicama, gorgeously bright mint and hits of hot and sour tamarind. This food is way beyond Instagram click bait with a kitchen focused on all the right details. Both components of a recent staff meal dish – Bolognese sauce over rice were absolutely perfect – a deeply savoury slow cooked sauce full of rounded meatiness and jasmine rice steamed to a faultlessly toothsome texture. With dishes that are deeply thrilling and comforting at the same time – Uncle’s Snack Shop shows that a new generation of fearless restaurateurs and chefs are more than ready for the future.

Website  |  Instagram  |  Facebook

Critics' Choice Signature Dish Awards 2021

Awards Result in November


Facebook
Whatsapp
Twitter
LinkedIn
Follow by Email